J80 Racing 

in 2016 we will be competing in the world championships. Interested  in this elite level type of Racing?

Welcome to the Royal Gibraltar Yacht Club's website 

RGYC – SAILING PROGRAMME 2016  

Sat 16th April  HMS Calpe Shield (Tune up) (V) Wooden Spoon (V)  

Sat 23rd April Jubilee 1 (V) - Sponsored by: Beck’s Beer

                           Brinton 1 (V) -   Sponsored by: Marks & Spencer 

Sat 30th April  PG Russo    

Sat 7th May Jubilee 2 (V) - Sponsored by: Beck’s Beer

                       Brinton 2 (V) - Sponsored by: Marks & Spencer 

Sat 14th May   Jubilee 3 (V) - Sponsored by: Beck’s Beer

                           Brinton 3 (V) - Sponsored by: Marks & Spencer  

Sat 21st May  Ocean Race 1 

Sat 28th May  RAFSA 1  

Wed 1st June  Frank Imossi 1 

Sat 4th June  Jubilee 4 (V) - Sponsored by: Beck’s Beer

                        Brinton 4 (V) - Sponsored by: Marks & Spencer  

Wed 8th June  Frank Imossi 2 

Sat 11th June RAFSA 2 

Wed 15th June  Frank Imossi 3 

Sat 18th June    Ocean Race 2 

Wed 22nd June  Frank Imossi 4 

Sat 25th June  LW Triay Challenge (Heats)

Wed 29th Frank Imossi 5 

Sat 2nd July   No Victory Racing – Inter Club Regatta

Wed 6th July Frank Imossi 6 

Sat 9th July  LW Triay Challenge (Final)

REGATTA WEEK  

Mon 11th July Crutchley Cup (V) (under 30's) 

Tue 12th July Capurro Tankard (V) (over 30's) 

Wed 13th July Ladies Race (V) 

Thu 14th July Cochrane Crews Cup (V) 

Fri 15th July San Sebastian Cup (single handed) (V) 

Sat 16th July Cochrane Trophy (V) Carrara Trophy (V) 

Sun 17th July Thompson Cup (V)  Rover Trophy (V)  

Wed 20th July Frank Imossi 7 

Sat 23rd July Ocean Race 3 

Wed 27th  July Frank Imossi 8 

Sat 30th July No Victory Racing – Gibraltar Regatta  

Wed 3rd Aug Frank Imossi 9 

Sat 6th Aug Veterans Race 

Wed 10th  Aug Frank Imossi 10 

Sat 13th Aug RAFSA 3 

Wed 17th Aug Frank Imossi 11  

Sat 20th Aug Ocean Race 4 

Wed 24th Aug Frank Imossi 12   

Sat 27th Aug Barbara Cochrane Cup  

Sat 3rd Sept Forrestier Walker 1 (V) - Sponsored by: Triay Stagnetto Neish

Patron 1 (V) - Sponsored by: M. Sheppard & Co Ltd  

Sat 10th Sept No Victory Racing – Gibraltar National Day   

Sat 17th Sept  Forrestier Walker 2 (V) - Sponsored by: Triay Stagnetto Neish

                           Patron 2 (V) - Sponsored by: M. Sheppard & Co Ltd Bart’s Bash 

Sun 18th Sept Tango Open / Bart’s Bash 

Sat 24th Oct Forrestier Walker 3 (V) - Sponsored by: Triay Stagnetto Neish

                       Patron 3 (V) - Sponsored by: M. Sheppard & Co Ltd 

Sat 1st Oct Forrestier Walker 4 (V) - Sponsored by: Triay Stagnetto Neish

Patron 4 (V) - Sponsored by: M. Sheppard & Co Ltd  

Sat 8th Oct   Team Race Practice  

Sat 15th Oct   RGYC v Portsmouth Sailing Club  

Sat 22nd Oct   RAFSA 4  

Sat 29th Oct   Paul Mifsud     

Note : Midweek Wednesday sailing will include all other classes. This will not form part of any series. The intention is practice and to bring in new people to learn about competitive sailing

SAILING Results 2015

Kings Cup : Nemesis (Charles Lavarello)

Rogers Cup : Temptress (Monty Spindler)

Jubilee Cup : Temptress (Monty Spindler)

Godley Cup : Nemesis (Charles Lavarello)

Brinton Cup: Temptress (Monty Spindler)

Tyrwhitt Cup: Fairdawn (Charlie Stagnetto)

Patron Cup: Fairdawn (Charlie Stagnetto)

Garnon‐Williams Cup: Andromeda (Micko Sheppard‐Capurro)

Forrestair Walker Cup : Temptress (Monty Spindler)

A.A.R.A. Cup : Andromeda (Micko Sheppard‐Capurro)

Ocean Race Cup : Nemesis (Charles Lavarello)

Joseph H Imossi Cup: Zoe (Andrew Alcantara)

Charles Cruz Cup : Charles Lavarello (most wins)

Louis W. Triay Challenge Cup: Nemesis (Charles Lavarello)

Lipton Cup: Nemesis (Charles Lavarello)

Wooden Spoon: Alitea (Dennis Sciacaluga)

HMS Calpe Shield: Fairdawn (Charlie Stagnetto)

Fifth Fusiliers Cup : Fencer (Hamish Risso)


Regatta Week

Cochrane Trophy : Fairdawn (Charlie Stagnetto)

Runner Up : Viking (Louis Triay)

Carrara Trophy: Andromeda (Micko Sheppard‐Capurro)

Runner Up : Fairdawn (Charlie Stagnetto)

Thompson Cup : Fairdawn (Charlie Stagnetto)

Runner Up : Fencer (Hamish Risso)

Rover Trophy : Fairdawn (Charlie Stagnetto)

Runner Up : Andromeda (Micko Sheppard‐Capurro)

Colville Cup : Fairdawn (Charlie Stagnetto)

Louis Stagnetto Cup : Andromeda (Micko Sheppard‐Capurro)

Cochrane Crew’s Cup : Tom Hillman (Viking)

Runner Up: Adam Alcantara (Zoe)

Crutchley Cup (Under 30’s) : Keith Payas (Emendek)

Runner Up: Adam Alcantara (Zoe)

San Sebastian Cup : Hamish Risso (Fencer)

Runner Up : Nemesis (Charles Lavarello)

Paul Mifsud Cup : Andromeda (Micko Sheppard‐Capurro)

Runner Up : Fencer (Hamish Risso)

 CREWS WANTED

The club is always looking for sailors to crew in our racing. If anyone is interested please email rgyc@gibraltar.gi 

If you would like to learn how to sail  please email rgycsailingschool@gmail.com

Bart's Bash  2015

19 boats with 31 sailors took part in this event. Two Platu keel boats, one Victory, plus Picos and Lasers joined in the fun and £310 was collected for the Andrew Simpson Sailing Foundation. A slide show, video footage and a small gallery of photos of this event are shown below.



Video footage of Victory Racing in the 1980s

Interclub del Estrecho

Crusier Racing League

We are hosting one of the races of this prestigious league, where normally at least 40 boats participate.

Race date is 2nd July 2016.

Fancy joining in this type of racing?


 Sailing School

The club has  a full time sailing instructor who is working Tuesdays to Saturdays. To arrange for sailing lessons please email

Miguel Galiano on sailingschoolatrgyc@gmail.com


Look at all the boats behind us!

Make a Free Website with Yola.